Call: 015395 52387

toggle menu

Reviews



review

22/5/2015

"A squishy bed was awesome"

The gardens were amazing and the summer house was beautiful. I liked having access to the meadow and woods! The house was brilliant and having so much space and a squishy bed was awesome.

review

22/5/2015

"Everything exceeded our expectations"

WOW! What a week in an amazing house. Everything exceeded our expectations. From the huge gardens, the well stocked kitchen cupboards, the magnificent dining room, the warm welcome- to the glorious weather (apart from the day we went to Cartmel Races. We loved everything about it. Thank you for sharing your wonderful house. Kids loved the piano-never before has practising been so much fun! And the library- books, books, books everywhere. Something for everyone.

review

May 2015

"Will recommend to others"

Loved the house. Had an amazing relaxing weekend. Will recommend to others. Thanks very much.

review

18/5/2015

Dogs, kids and adults all exhausted but happy

Fabulous house, fantastic gardens, (rubbish weather, but you can't have it all.) Dogs, kids and adults all exhausted but happy. We'll be back.

review

18/5/2015

"House and gardens truly magnificent"

Beautiful, fantastic, fabulous, marvellous, gorgeous, terrific. House and gardens are truly magnificent. we have had a great weekend with weather to match. We'll be back!

review

20/4/2015

"Our stay here has been sublime"

Ahoy-hoy! Our stay here has been sublime! Old friends catching up in the perfect setting. Much merriment was had by all in front of the log fires. Till next time!

review

"What an amazing house!"

What an amazing house! The rooms were very nice and all large! The couches and beds are all extremely comfortable and provided many nights of Britain's Got Talent. The gardens are awesome and make a great football pitch. I very much enjoyed cycling the many tracks around the grounds and into the nature reserve. The house is a great location for visits to Arnside and Grange and great days out to South Lakes Zoo and Fellfoot Park. Overall a brilliant stay and we hope to visit again soon.

review

13/3/15

"Perfect for our family celebration."

A wonderful house and location. Perfect for our family celebration. Many thanks for a super weekend.

review

27/3/15

"Very sad to leave"

This is our third visit to this wonderful family home and we have had a great week. One of the highlights being a climb up Silver Howe at Grasmere with our granddaughter who is five. Yesterday the mountains were covered with snow which made it very special. We shall be very sad to leave but hope to return again soon.

review

23/1/15

"...could not be more perfect"

This weekend has been one of the most special weekends of my life. Spending time as one big family....The house, location and company could not be more perfect. Thank you for giving me this memory by allowing us the pleasure of such a beautiful home.

review

23/1/15

"We have had the most wonderful weekend."

We came here for a weekend to get to know each other. House far exceeded our expectations and we have had the most wonderful weekend...It will be a truly memorable weekend..we would love to come back one day.

review

28/12/15

"What a wonderful place to see out 2014"

What a wonderful place to see out 2014 and bring in 1015. We've had three generations fill the house with fun and laughter. Thank you for opening the house up to share.

review

15/11/14

"Loved the chickens."

Beautiful house and gardens. Loved the chickens. Thank you for opening your home for others to enjoy.

review

15/11/14

"Best Nerf battle ground EVER!"

Great house. Had a wonderful time.
Best Nerf battle ground EVER!

review

1/11/14

"Fabulous time."

Fabulous time. Thank you!

review

24/11/14

"Wish we could stay longer"

We have returned for another wonderful stay at Halecat. The flowers in various rooms were a lovely thought and the cupcakes soon devoured. Wish we could stay longer but looking forward to the next time. Don't miss-Beatrix Potter attraction at Bowness for adults and kids, and the many local walks.

review

09/14

"Bliss!"

Yoga and walking weekend. Bliss!

review

14/09/14

"Fantastic garden and piano."

A very pleasant trip. Fantastic garden and piano. Views brilliant. Thank you!

review

12/09/14

"Stunning gardens and an amazing experience."

A beautiful house. Stunning gardens and an amazing experience. Will never forget. Can't wait to be back.

review

22/09/14

"Definitely will come back.."

Had the best ever 60th birthday. Loved the house very much. It felt like living in my own house. Didn't want to go back. Had a lovely time with my son and daughter in law and precious grand children. Loved the beautiful gardens. Definitely will come back and will recommend to people who really need a break from their busy lives.

review

22/09/14

"Good holiday.."

Had a good holiday. Thanks.

review

8/08/2014

"The house is magnificent.."

I had a lovely time.
The house is magnificent. Everything about it is amazing. It's spacious, beautiful, with lovely views. The kids loved the gardens and loved playing the piano. We would definitely come back . Highly recommended. One request is to have a land line phone here as there is no reception; just in case of emergency.

review

8/08/2014

"Enchanting house and gardens.."

We have had a wonderful week in the enchanting house and gardens. Thoroughly enjoyed playing croquet on the lawn and having afternoon tea on the patio with splendid view. Visited Hawkshead Agricultural Show, waterskiing on Windermere, cycling in Grizedale and climbing Old Man of Coniston. Thank you for everything.

review

8/08/2014

"Very homely.."

Beautiful house and gardens. Very homely. Thank you for the delicious lemon drizzle cake Steph.

review

1/08/2014

"Lovely garden filled with wildlife.."

An awesome house with amazing views. Lovely garden filled with wildlife. Weather being fantastic, enjoyed every minute. Certainly come again.
P.S. We had a great barbecue. Thank you. We saw a deer.

review

25/07/2014

"Peace in the evening.."

Had a lovely time -beautiful weather and peace in the evening. Thank you for the welcome and help during our stay.

An amazing house. We enjoyed every day. Thank you for everything.

review

23/07/2014

"Perfect antidote to our hectic London lifestyles"

This has been a perfect venue for our family holiday; huge beautiful rooms and an amazing garden which acted as a safe playground for our two and a half year old grand-daughter. The stunning view from the terrace and the peace and quiet were the perfect antidotes to our hectic London lifestyles.
Thank you Steph for providing fresh flowers and for being so available if we had any queries. I'm off now to the garden centre to stock up with plants and attend a composting course.

review

23/06/2014

"Had an amazing weekend.."

Had an amazing weekend celebrating my birthday with my University friends and their families. Had amazing weather and would definitely recommend to our other friends and family. Thank you very much.

review

20/06/2014

"The garden is a distinguished one.."

Thanks very much. We really enjoyed our stay here. The house is very comfortable. Nice and clean. The garden is a distinguished one, our kids enjoyed playing here. Sure, we will come again to this lovely homely place.

review

11/06/2014

"A lovely house with such lovely things.."

“We had a great time and really appreciated staying in such a lovely house with such lovely things, but such a relaxed atmosphere – a rare combination! We’re still talking about it and we’ll definitely be back.”

review

21/02/2014

"This is our second visit.."

This is our second visit and once again we have had a lovely stay. Will be recommending to all our friends and family.

review

21/02/14

"Superb."

We have never seen Octavia so happy. Superb.

review

14/02/2014

"...such a memorable occasion"

We have had such a lovely stay in a beautiful house. Family joined me in my 50th celebration and made it such a memorable occasion. Thank you so much to the house staff and to Steph for their kindness. We enjoyed the fires!
P.S. And of course the cupcakes!

review

29/12/2013

"A wonderful family Christmas.."

We have had a wonderful family Christmas in such a lovely house which was all decorated for the festive season, so it made it very special. Steph made us very welcome and did all she could to make us comfortable. W shall miss the house very much and hope sometime in the future to return again.

review

13/11/2013

"We felt right at home"

We booked Halecat House as the venue for a surprise birthday celebration for my Mum's 50th, and it couldn't have been a more perfect setting. Despite the size and grandness of the house, it felt warm and cosy (helped by the lovely open fires) and we felt right at home. All of the rooms are spacious and well proportioned meaning we could all sit in the same room comfortably, which as a family of 11 was really appreciated. The bedrooms are all huge and beautifully decorated, and there were plenty of bathrooms for us all. There was always hot water and heating available. The kitchen was well stocked with pans/utensils/cutlery etc.; the only minor issue was a bit of confusion using the oven, but we cracked it by the final day! The location was great, within a 20 minute drive to Lake Windermere and easily accessible from the M6. We had a meal at the local pub, the Derby Arms, which did excellent food - a 15 minute walk or 5 minute drive away. Steph was fantastic in helping us organise the weekend - always quick to reply to emails with lots of useful information. The garden is big and great for playing in, even for the children in our 20s and 30s... A great game of Night Frisbee was had! The views over the garden to the fells and estuary are also fantastic, and we were treated to a fireworks display in the distance one night from the comfort of the living room. It was brilliant to be surrounded by all the history and grandeur of the house, but at the same time to feel so relaxed and at home. We're already talking about booking again! Thank you!

Back to top